Laichtín Naofa Comhaltas (Miltown Malbay)


  • Mary Leahy O'Connor
  • Caherogan
  • Mullagh Road
  • Miltown Malbay
  • Clare
  • 085 7303557

The original Branch of Comhaltas in Miltown Malbay, formed in 1954, was one of the first branches in County Clare and hosted the first Fleadh Cheoil an Chláir in the town in August 1957. It again hosted the Clare Fleadh in 1961. The Branch was re-formed in 1987 and again hosted Fleadh Cheoil an Chláir in June 1988. The Laichtín Naofa Ceili Band gave an outdoor performance at this event. The line-up included Junior Crehan , Michael Sexton, J.C. Talty, Michael Falsey, Martin Malone, and Paddy Galvin, all members of the original band founded in 1954.

The present Branch, Craobh Laichtín Naofa, formed in 2007 to mark the 50th Anniversary of the 1957 Fleadh, shares that illustrious name. The Branch had a very successful “Seisiún” season in Spanish Point Golf Clubhouse in July/August 2012 produced by Noreen Murrihy.
The Branch in conjunction with the county board successfully held the County Fleadh in Miltown Malbay 2012.


The current committee of Laichtín Naofa Comhaltas (Miltown Malbay):
Title Name
President Michael Falsey
Chairman John Joe Tuttle
Secretary Mary Leahy O'Connor
Treasurer David Fitzgerald
PRO P.J.Killeen